Sofia Coppola. Dream Girl.

by tobelikeafeatherby

Sofia Coppola … 'It sounded like it had all the elements for a fun pop movie.'

Sofia, looking typically like Sophie.

Dear Ellie

It feels obligatory for me to write about Sofia Coppola, as my love of culture all began with Sofia. At the age of 14 her first feature film, The Virgin Suicides (1999), totally captured my imagination and subsequently inspired, and spurred on, my interest today in the dreamy worlds of film, fashion and music.

the-lisbon-sisters

The Lisbon sisters of The Virgin Suicides.

I adore all of her subsequent films which explore what it is to be young, lonely and lost, in Tokyo, LA or 18th century France, always with the coolest music and style. Marie Antoinette (2006) became a borderline obsession of mine at school, with the soundtrack, still beloved today, pounding from my room while I poured over the Antonia Fraser book it was inspired by, and begged to be taken to Versailles

marie_antoinette_2006_img_2

Still from Marie Antoinette

marie_antoinette_shoes

Delectable Manolo Blahnik shoes designed for the film

CNV00016

Steph and me at Versailles.

I saw Somewhere (2010), perhaps my favourite, memorably with you just before I was about to travel to LA and thus my city became the one depicted in the film, with Clary and me visiting Chateaux Marmont more than once, and me sneaking away to watch the film whilst out there again.

somewhere_wp_pc_wide

I was admittedly a little disappointed with the recent, The Bling Ring (2013), perhaps because it is not as pleasing to the eye and ear as her other films, yet the topic seems like a natural one for Sofia to explore, and in this sense the film raises more complex questions compared to her others, considering its portrayal of teenagers who steal from celebrates. I believe Sofia understands entirely how girls think and feel and manages to portray this better than any other director. I find her films profoundly moving, and subtly amusing, as she betrays awkwardness and the bizarities of life by simply pointing a camera at them, for instance a menu in Japan in Lost in Translation (2003) or the tiring ceremonial nature of life at Versailles, in Marie Antoinette.

02

Sofia has infamously great laid back style and has long been a muse to Marc Jacobs and designed with him at Louis Vuitton- you, of course, will like that she always wears black, but I like that she got married in purple and especially adore when she wore pink silk. She is obviously inspired by the French, and lives, I like to imagine, in utopian Paris with her handsome husband Thomas Mars from Phoenix. I thought you would be interested to hear she used to design clothes in Tokyo under the label Milk Fed. Very 90s and very you.

2_Sofia_Coppola_Meets_Marc_Jacobs_Muse_Designer

Sofia, with best friend Marc Jacobs, shot by Juergen Teller.

Sofia’s films will always evoke a strong sense of nostalgia in me. Her films seem to mark different chapters of my life, and I will always remember when I got to San Diego and you had bought me a bottle of sparkling wine from her legendary fathers vineyard. I hope this blog will recall you to remember good memories also (seeing Air at the Roundhouse…).  I feel thankful to Sofia for teaching me about fashion, music and film. She champions girl power but in the best understated way.

Love, Sarah xx

