Girl Crush on Broadway

by tobelikeafeatherby

Ellie Pot Belly,

Image

(Becca and I in Times Square before the show)

Ahhh survived the storm and had the most fantastic weekend. After being alerted our trip to NY could be in danger, we all jumped on the next bus possible to the city, meaning we arrived in NY a night early. Madly, we decided to spend the additional night wondering around Manhattan. I know it is a memory I shall never forget. It was so magical seeing the city empty and feeling as though it was ours for a night (It appears the city that never sleeps does, and quite early actually).

Image

My friend Becca and I were particularly keen to escape considering we had spent the whole week gushing about getting to see Jessica Chastain on broadway in The HeiressNothing was going to stop this from happening. Oh and how it was worth it! I love her. I think she is absolutely captivating. Her porcelain skin and copper hair would have surely inspired Titian. (Jack you should take it as a considerable complement that I have compared her to Jess more than once.) Amongst all Jessica’s radiance, it should be an accolade to her brilliance as an actress that she was able to play the role of Catherine (an emotionally awkward and unloved young lady) so convincingly. The play is an adaptation from a Henry James novel. Admittedly, at first I thought the play was going to be like most west end shows that star Hollywood actors; safe and entertaining with (hopefully) a notable performance. Yet Catherine turned out to be a much more subversive character than expected, making the play considerably darker and thus more engaging, than anticipated. Catherine reminded me very much of one of Edith Wharton’s female protagonists with whom I am always attracted to for their fierce sense of courage and strength. The setting of the play may have been traditional but the themes addressed were germane to the present (gold digging to use an ugly phrase). I couldn’t help but thinking M would have loved it. Especially as Catherine was a skilled embroiderer.

Image

More on New York to come.

Image

Image

I am still harnessing a heartache she did not win the Bafta. How lovely she is.

Sarah. xx

