A Trip Of One’s Own.

by tobelikeafeatherby

Dear Ellie,

You’ll be happy to know I am having so much fun here. It is everything I expected it to be and more. Although being typically British there is one drawback. The deathly chill. I arrogantly thought being a tough cookie the cold would be no problem. It is very romantic and invigorating being in the white countryside but the next time I see a balaclava I am  buying one. I am so lucky to be studying in Amherst as I am surrounded by beautiful, quirky and quaint college towns such as Northampton or Amherst itself where many great writers have lived or studied (Robert Frost, Emily Dickinson and Sylvia Plath). In due course, and when I have had more time to explore, I am exited to tell you all about life out here. Although for now I just want to share with you an essay I have come across by Virginia Woolf entitled ‘A Room of One’s Own’.Image

Really the premise behind the essay is very simple. Woolf felt female literature had been heavily undeveloped considering her talented female contemporaries, or those before her, did not have the economic freedom to write. Hence a ‘ woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction.’ Admittedly I have yet to tackle any of Woolf’s novels (although I have seen The Hours…) yet after reading this essay I see Woolf in an entirely new and captivating light (considering the legacy of her death and depression presume her work is, more often than not, morbid.) The essay reminds me how lucky I am to have had an education and more importantly spurs me on to continue writing.

image63_thumb

Keeping faithful to my enduring love of the Mitfords I listened to this BBC piece about Nancy Mitford with Grace Dent. Quite a funny pairing. It made me want a decent cup of tea which is basically impossible here. (what is black tea?)

I will leave you with a photo I took when walking home from town yesterday.

Image

Miss you, Sarah. xx

